Two Distress Ink Techniques

20170115_134027I am not a watercolor expert but I like to play with water and ink colors. I made this card for a challenge a couple of weeks ago using Distress Inks and water. The same Distress inks worked well to dye the seam binding and the card stock which were both originally white. I wanted the ink to pool a little bit in the debossed areas so I used the impression plate first.

I put some water on the card before dropping inks on it and that helps them move around without much help from a brush. The key to keeping the colors light was not mixing them very much.

20170220_141000

This card also used Distress Inks but this time I used an ink blending tool to create the very soft tints of color. Tapping the ink blending tool off on a scrap first let me add very small amounts of color and not make them too heavy. I used the February My Monthly Hero Kit to make this card. It is an amazing kit full of weather stamps and dies.

One thought on “Two Distress Ink Techniques

Leave a Reply

